In 1946, the United Brethren denomination merged with the Evangelical Church, and our congregation became known as the First Evangelical United Brethren Church of Huntington. On April 23, 1968 they united with the Methodists to form the United Methodist Church. At that time, it was decided to call our congregation Evangelical United Methodist Church.
This merger put our congregation in a unique position: now there were two United Methodist Churches within a block of each other in downtown Huntington. In 1973, under the leadership of Rev. R. Edwin Green, property was purchased on Flaxmill Road in preparation for a new building. 1976 proved to be an important year for the church: the building plans were approved, ground was broken, and on October 10, the cornerstone was laid. The first service in the new church was held on April 17, 1977.